Nepal’s all municipalities be associated with CityNet: VP Pun

Lalitpur, November 7: Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun has urged the CityNet, an organization of municipalities in the Asia Pacific region, to include Nepal’s all 293 municipalities in it. He came up with such remarks while inaugurating the meeting of the 38th executive committee of the CityNet organized by Lalitpur Metropolitan City in Lalitpur on Wednesday (Nov 6).

Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun shared that the government of Nepal had laid emphasis on climate change, development of tourism, excavation of minerals and increase of agro products to make the country prosper. He urged the CityNet-member nations to visit Nepal in 2020 as the government of Nepal will be launching Visit Nepal 2020 with an aim to attract as many as 2 million foreign tourists to Nepal, stressing the need to attract foreign investment in Nepal. CityNet is one of the largest associations of urban stakeholders who are committed to sustainable development in the Asia Pacific region.

Among the 135 municipalities of 22 countries that CityNet has, Lalitpur Metropolitan City is also one among them. Altogether fourteen municipalities and four different organizations including the Municipality Association of Nepal are associated with current members of CityNet from Nepal. Similarly, CityNet’s Secretary and Mayor of Seoul, South Korea, Park Won-soon, expressed his confidence that the meeting would help the CityNet member municipalities formulate strategic plans for achieving sustainable development.

Likewise, CityNet’s General-Secretary Bijaya Gajannathan underscored the need to consider banning two-wheelers and four-wheelers in the Patan’s heritage sites. Also speaking at the event, Lalitpur Metropolitan City Mayor Chiribabu Maharjan informed that his metropolis had been associated with CityNet for 29 years. He shared that Lalitpur Metropolitan City had formulated a plan to organize a summit on heritage and sustainable tourism in the future to promote the cultural heritages of Lalitpur district.